History of Woodstock Runners

History of Woodstock Runners

A meeting held at Woodstock on 22 August 1980, with Reg Seagrave representing Woodstock, and David Mollard representing the Department of Sport and Recreation, saw Steve Briscoe, Rohan Bray, Kerry Bray and two others decide to commence a jogging group. We took off, very slowly, to run the mile course through Appian Way on Tuesday 26 August 1980, most of us stopping for a breather on the way. Pressing on over the weeks and months we managed the 3.3km course, the 5.5km “Fun and Fitness” and eventually the “ultimate” – the Concord 10km, run by the guys only in mid 1981.

1981 – the Sutherland to Surf saw our first team in a run (Steve Briscoe, Michael Bayles and Rohan Bray).

1982 – Sprint training at Concord Oval on Thursday nights.

3/3/1983 – Sprint training was moved to Campbell Athletic Field, Canterbury.

April 1983 – Woodstock’s first victorious male team, in the inaugural South Strathfield Interact Run, consisting of Norm Hams, John Jessup

August 1983 – Our inaugural City to Surf internal team competition was held.

December 1983 – Our very first Christmas Presentation night was held, and the launch of the Year Book took place.

26/1/1984 – inaugural Australia Day Run was held from the home of Chris Siepen.

Mid 1984 – Vision of a Fun Run was born, and our official singlets, t-shirts & sloppy jo’s were first available.

1985 – Commenced Saturday morning runs, from Brett Park, Drummoyne.

September 1985 – Initial participation in Burwood Festival Parade.

October 1985 – our First Internal “Run to Time” was held, over the Fun Run course.

10/11/1985 – the first Woodstock Runners Community Fun Run (10km) was held.

December 1985 – Kerry Bray was awarded the Club’s first Life Membership.

1986 – Sunday morning runs, organised by Derek White, commenced.

November 1986 – Bronwyn Bickford & James Moran were recognised as the Female and Male “Junior Athlete of the Year” respectively, Our 1985 Fun Run was awarded “Best Fun Run of the Year” by the NSW Road Runners Association.

November 1987 – At the NSW Road Runners Association awards, Elle Cody (now Siepen) was awarded “Female Athlete of the Year”, and our 1986 Fun Run took out the “Best Fun Run up to 15km”, while the Club picked up the “Best Running Club of the Year” award.

December 1987 – Chris Siepen was awarded the Club’s second Life Membership.

14/5/1988 – Michael Oakley organised our first Marathon Relay at Lidcombe – we completed our marathon in 2:10:32.

September 1988 – Our “Bicentennial Woodstock ’10′” attracted a record 1,149 entrants.

28/1/1989 – A time capsule was sealed by the Burwood Bicentennial Committee. Contained within were photos, results, an entry form, poster and certificate from The Bicentennial Woodstock “10”, as well as some historical facts about the Club.

Mid 1989 – Our first “Pack Run” was held, as was the inaugural “Woodstock Internal Relay”.

23/9/1989 – Michael & Virginia Oakley organised our second Marathon Relay at Lidcombe.

Gerry Phipps and Lesley Maher organised our initial “posh” Breakfast Run, commencing with the hard part at Bondi, followed by brekkie at the Intercontinental Hotel.

28/10/90 – we were placed third in the Inter-Club Challenge.

9/6/1992 – we were registered as an Incorporated Association.

January 1996 – our 1995 Fun Run was awarded “Fun Run of the Year”, as voted by the readers of “The Right Track”. (This same award was also given to our Fun Run in 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001 & 2002.

1997 – Our website (originally at www.woodstock.coolrunning.com.au) was launched.

December 1997 – Colin Townsend was awarded the Club’s third Life Membership.

April 1998 – we entered two teams in the TAB 24 Hour Olympic Relay, with them finishing 3rd & 17th.

September 2000 – many of our members filled volunteer roles in the 2000 Olympic Games, the biggest group being at the 35km Aid Station in the Marathons.

17/4/2002 – We became affiliated with Athletics New South Wales, and our Constitution was formally accepted.

15/6/2003 – Our first team entry in an ANSW event – Nick Spasevski, Riccardo Benvenuti, Colin Townsend & Michael Davey came 11th out of 13 teams in the M35+ Road Relay Championships at The Crest, Bankstown.

July 2003 – Commenced Wednesday & Friday morning runs, from Leichhardt Pool, Leichhardt.

February 2004 – the Handicap Pointscore series commenced.

11/5/2004 – Dorothy Siepmann was awarded the Club’s fourth Life Membership.

5/5/2005 – Online Memberships & Uniforms ordering launched with Register Now.

30/3/2007 – Our own domain name (www.woodstockrunners.org.au) was registered.

7/12/2008 – John Dawlings was awarded the Club’s fifth Life Membership.

26/6/2009 – Brendan Davies & Tim Cochrane selected in the Australian team to compete in the 100km event at the Commonwealth Championships, to be held in Keswick, Cumbria UK from 17 to 20 September, 2009. Tim (7:20:49, 5th) &  Brendan (7:31:15, 9th) helped Australia finish as the second team.

21/8/2010 –  Brendan Davies selected in the Australian team to compete in World Long Distance Mountain Running Championship, being held over the ‘Pikes Peak’ course in Colorado, USA. He finished the 21.1km in 3:05:35 and 85th overall (1800 starters).

17/2/14 – Commencement of Monday night training (MNT) at King George’s Park (on YouTube!)

2014 – Woodstock Runners was recognised by Athletics NSW as a Specialist Club. This means our members can now compete in our club uniform in all ANSW inter-club events, State Winter and Summer competitions and compete in State Championship events. Members can also be selected by ANSW to join their State representative teams to compete nationally.

4/5/2015 – Barry Cole and Joe Ayoub awarded Life Memberships

9/8/2015 – A great result for Woodstock Runners teams performances in the 2015 City to Surf: Womens Open: 1st place, Mens Open: 2nd place, Mixed Open: 9th place, Womens Veterans 40-49: 1st place, Mens Veterans 40-49: 3rd place, Womens Veterans 50+: 2nd place, Mens Veterans 50+: 4th place

11/11/2015 – Our community Facebook page started!

Leave a Reply

Human validation * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.