Terry Vohradsky

Name: Terry Vohradsky

What is your occupation? Own business – Lawn mowing & car detailing

Running age group?30-34

Do you have family? Yes, thankfully. I have my Mum and Dad and 1 younger Sister, and 1 much loved partner. Plus i have a beaut dog named Max, and couple of cats.

How long have you been a Woody? 3 months

Do you run on Tuesday night/TNT/Saturday morning?Sometimes Sat mornings, mostly fun runs on Sunday. Interested in the TNT if i can find the extra time around my busy work schedule.

Why do you enjoy running? Its great for fitness & weight loss and has a certain stress relief element to it. I enjoy getting out on the track, running with my friends and my partner! I like the thrill factor when in a big race/ fun run and the spectacle of running with hundreds of runners around me and the loud clatter of all the feet, running well and making it through the finish gates! The social element is fun. I have improved so much since I began running in March this year, and have gone from 3km to 7, to 10, 14, and 15km runs, and am confident In my first Half Marathon in 3 weeks time.

What is your favourite running distance/course/event and why? I mostly like 7-10k distances, i like alot of courses but my fave local is the Bay Run in Drummoyne, and as far as events go i also like a few of them, though I’ll pick City to Surf because of the challenge and sheer numbers of people the buzz of being part of it and i like to give heartbreak hill a good flogging and coast down the hill to the beach for a well deserved beer and lunch.

What has been your running highlight? I ran a 48 minute PB for my 2nd 10km race at NSW Roads State Championship a few months ago, and then that gave me enough credit to make it into the Red Intermediate Start Section in City 2 Surf, and run alongside my partner.

Any lowlights (injury etc)? I have struggled to warm up on cold winter morning runs, and I’ve had a couple races where went out too hard early, and paid the price being out of breath and feeling my legs burning and bricking up, etc and not enjoying the run. No injuries as yet, but as I have upped the kms and advanced had a few annoying pains and strains affecting hamstrings, calves, knees and ankles. As time passes these have became less apparent, even gone away.

What was the last race you went in and how did you go? I ran the St George Beachside Dash at Brighton Le Sands in the 10km run last week and I had my calves on fire the whole way, since i have upped my running from once a week to two or 3 times a week in training for my half, and this wasn’t very pleasing to me, though toughed it out and had a fair bit of fuel left to speed up in the last 4km and go for a PB, but missed by around 1 minute.

Anything funny/unusual ever happened to you while you have been out running? Not really. I have seen people dressed as Superman, Supermums running flat out in races with twins in prams.

What other sports/hobbies are you involved in? I’m not involved in any other sports, though as hobbies I enjoy things such as getting out for a bike, bbqs, going to the beach, dining out, making home brew beers, watching movies, catching up to family and friends, and getting out and about and being active and fit in general.

Favourite food/beverage? Tacos and Beer simultaneously.

If you won 1 million, how you think going to spend the money?I wont spend much of the money, rather just live off some of it, maybe buy a home but still get a loan for most of it, invest a bit in some stocks, maybe do a few random acts of kindness and help my family if i see them struggling, and relax on a boat in a bay somewhere, and doing some fishing and just continue working but part time, so the money didnt run out.

If you could have dinner with anyone who would it be and why? Probably my dad because he lives quite far away and I don’t see him very often.

Where would your ideal holiday be? I am going to The Phillipines soon, and it will be ideal, and I’ll be seeking warm sun soaked beautiful beaches, and all things fun and relaxing, plus the Australian Dollar buys alot more over there than it does here, so food and drinks shopping and accoms will be at a bargain price.

Interesting things we may not know about you? I ran as a ring-in and unofficial woodstocker for a couple of events in the prior weeks before joining, and achieved some good PB’s but I am now trying to beat the PB’s as a new Woodstockian, which i haven’t been able to do yet.

Thanks for sharing Terry.

Comments are closed.