Peta Bray

Name: Peta Bray

What is your occupation? Early Childhood Teacher

Running age group? 40-50 years

Do you have family? No Children, 4 siblings and nieces and nephews How long have you been a Woody? 8 months, but running a little before then.

Do you run on Tuesday night/TNT/Saturday morning? Unable to run with Woodstock anytime but run the Handicap runs

Why do you enjoy running? I enjoy running because it makes me feel better and healthy. I like the challenges it brings specially as running is new to me. I like setting goals for myself and trying to achieve these. Finally its great to run with others, meet people and belong to a running group where people cheer on you and encourage you. It also means I can eat anything.

What is your favourite running distance/course/event and why? As I’ve just began running its a bit of a tricky question. I would say after my first season I prefer medium distances of 7-10 Km because there are many races of these distances and it interesting to compare times. I also enjoyed the Blackmore’s Half Marathon last year as it was my first half and loved the atmosphere and everything about it.

What has been your running highlight? I have a few completing my first ever fun run without stopping (4Km, Sri Chinmoy) with my mum Kerry. Receiving my first ever medal in my age category and completing my first half marathon last year as the longest distance ever.

Any lowlights (injury etc)? Fortunately, I haven’t experienced any low lights or injuries. So far only being sore and tight but I’m used to now. (found out that stretching helps!)

What was the last race you went in and how did you go? Sri Chinmoy 7Km November 2009. Would have liked to have done a faster time but due to the heat and humidity thought I did okay.

Anything funny/unusual ever happened to you while you have been out running? Nothing unusual or funny has happened to me while running. I’m sure something will as I continue to run more.

What other sports/hobbies are you involved in? I like cycling and sometimes my own circuit training.

Favourite food/beverage? Vegetables and Pizza, Stir fries, Chicken and of course chocolate apple juice and smoothies.

If you could have dinner with anyone who would it be and why? Michael Palin author of New Europe (Travel Book). It would be fascinating to hear all about his travels and about the many countries he’s been to and written about.

Where would your ideal holiday be? Would love to go to Egypt. I like ancient history and one day would love to see the Pyramids.

Favorite running shoe/Gadget? Why? Can’t Fault my Polar running watch it keeps track of my distance and helps me with training and to keep my speed up in races.

Interesting things we may not know about you? I’ve never driven. Lived and worked in London for 2 years, 13 years ago.

Thanks Peta for sharing! I appreciate your effort of having to write the response down since your computer was acting up. – Editor

 

Comments are closed.